a fencing match, SM Megamall

Epifanio de los Santos Avenue, Mandaluyong City

Upon its completion in the 90s, SM Megamall held the record for the country’s largest mall. Right now, another SM branch, aptly named SM Mall of Asia, in one of Metro Manila’s newest and hottest development spots- the Bay City area, a vast reclaimed land off Manila Bay, took that distinction. I just can’t resist long sentences, eh? SM Megamall however remains as one of the world’s largest and longest malls. And through its constant makeovers it continues to be one of the busiest malls in the country.

You can’t go wrong with the management and marketing capabilities of the group who runs the SM malls. And being located right smack in the middle of Metro Manila’s primary avenue, EDSA, sure does more than half the job in promoting it.

In this photo we have a fencing match between the University of the Philippines and the University of Santo Tomas. They held it in one of Megamall’s two atria (or atriums), large open areas that usually serve as a venue for concerts, activities such as this, and tons of promotion stuff. Fencing isn’t one of the sports I enjoy as a spectator. I tried to, even read about rules and such. It’s a university thing, I understand. And I do like swordplay but maybe in a previous lifetime I lost a real duel and before completely signing off I resolved not to like it at all next time around.

And yeah, when the referee said “Fence”, the girl spectator below me grew horns.

