San Vicente de Paul Catholic Church
San Marcelino Street, Ermita, Manila

From the LRT, while hanging out in Luneta or by crossing Ayala Bridge it is hard not to see San Vicente de Paul’s silver dome (which was reddish until lately). But since it’s accessible through San Marcelino Street and not along the busier Taft Avenue, San Vicente de Paul Catholic Church and the Adamson University campus are architectural marvels unknown to a lot of Manileños like me.

I’ve always thought the dome I see is from Hospicio de San Jose’s chapel until I got there and learned it’s a totally different thing. I concluded it must be Adamson’s or Santa Isabel’s but since I had no business in San Marcelino I never had the chance to prove or disprove my hypothesis.

San Vicente’s exterior has a very different feel to it.  I’m not an architecture student so I wouldn’t know. The entrance is like a simplified and more Filipino form of its equivalent in Manila Cathedral. So that makes it Earthquake Baroque? The balcony of sorts on top is very reminiscent of San Fernando Cathedral in Pampanga. Everything else seems more Eastern Orthodox, or I’m just thinking such is the case because Adamson University is founded by a Greek scientist. Maybe. But it’s not hard to assume that given the shape of the bell tower’s top.

The interior looks new and unimpressive. The bad cloud formations in the retablo looks like it’s Rococo influenced but everything else seems too plain for that lavish movement. The small hanging lamps that line the aisle are very nice though. See, because San Vicente isn’t so known it is hard to look for a website that contains information about it. But maybe it is because of the fact that there’s nothing much to see. I still love its exterior and its color scheme.

It’s a photo a day. I’ll post more San Vicente photographs in future entries.

